Arranged by Shannon Roberts
star star star star star Be the first to write a review!

Cat #: W-52015


This item usually ships within 1 business day.



Please call +1-518-587-1102 or email us.

Edition: Jazz Big Band Arrangement

Description: Slow Funk - Medium

Publisher: Walrus Music Publishing

Ballad for Sonia is a slow funk-ballad that features trombone and piano solosists and was premiered by the Weber State University Jazz Ensemble in the Spring of 2014. The groove begins with the rhythm section and the solo piano which plays the first statement of the main theme. This is followed by a re-statement in the trumpet section. After a bridging section, there is space for the trombonist and pianist to improvise. At letter F, then band modulates into a transition section which sets up the concluding sections. They grow to a huge moment with three-part counterpoint between the large horn sections of the band. The piece ends somewhat peacefully with a recapitulation and return to the original key.

Ballad for Sonia is dedicated to the composer's wife, Sonia Roberts, whose wonderful personality and musical talent inspired the work. She is a gifted pianist and percussionist, and the composer is a trombonist.

Full Score
2 Alto Saxophones
2 Tenor Saxophones
Baritone Saxophone
4 Trumpets
3 Trombones
Bass Trombone