Composed and Arranged by Oliver Nelson, Prepared for Publication by Dylan Canterbury, Rob DuBoff and Jeffrey Sultanof
star star star star star Be the first to write a review!

Cat #: JLP-7299DL


This product is available for immediate download after purchase.



Please call +1-518-587-1102 or email us.

Edition: Studio Orchestra Arrangement

Description: Swing/Ballad - Advanced

Publisher: Jazz Lines Publications

In January of 1967, Oliver Nelson wrote and conducted the music to one of his most ambitious albums, The Kennedy Dream for the Impulse label. The album received mixed reviews in the music press, but has subsequently grown in stature due to the quality of the music. Nelson himself had high regard for this album; he would tell colleagues that he wanted to write more ambitious music (he'd studied composition with Elliott Carter, and would study with George Tremblay in L.A.), and this was certainly a great opportunity for him.

This eight movement composition and recording was one of the last projects Nelson completed before moving out to Los Angeles. The movements feature 5 saxophones (doubling on flute, oboe, English horn, clarinet, and bass clarinet), 4 trumpets, 2 horns in F, 4 trombones, 2 violins, viola, cello, harpsichord (or piano), bass, drum set, and percussion (vibraphone and xylophone).

The eight movements are:

  • Let the Word Go Forth
  • Genuine Peace
  • The Rights of All
  • Tolerance
  • The Artists' Rightful Place
  • Jacqueline
  • Day in Dallas
  • John Kennedy Memorial Waltz

This complete publication has been prepared from the original scores and parts and has been thoroughly checked for note errors. In addition, dynamics and articulations have been included as-recorded. This complete piece lasts approximately 30 minutes.

Full Score
5 Saxophones (doubling on flute, oboe, English horn, clarinet, and bass clarinet)
4 Trumpets
2 Horns in F
4 Trombones
2 Violins
Harpsichord (or Piano)
Percussion (vibraphone and xylophone)
Drum set