Arranged by John Fedchock, Prepared by Rob DuBoff and Jeffrey Sultanof
star star star star star Be the first to write a review!

Cat #: JLP-7813DL


This product is available for immediate download after purchase.



Please call +1-518-587-1102 or email us.

Audio Sample:

View Sample Page:

View Sample

Edition: Jazz Big Band Arrangement

Description: Swing - Difficult

Publisher: Jazz Lines Publications

Jazz bass legend Oscar Pettiford's best known tune gets a wonderful big band treatment courtesy of trombonist/arranger John Fedchock. This chart does a wonderful job of retaining the playful cheekiness of the original melody while updating it with his signature dense, modern harmonic sense.

The arrangement starts out with an extended introduction that sees the drums playfully filling around some crunchy horn hits. The volume level across the band should be so uniform that the places where the drums and ensemble trade off will seem to blend together rather than be two separate sections. The melody proper begins at measure 33, and is carried almost entirely by the trombones and bass; the only brief exception to this rule occurs at measure 57. The background figures in the muted brass and saxes should always remain underneath and supportive of the melody.

This arrangement obviously wouldn't be complete without a bass solo, so it should come as no surprise that the ensemble tease at measure 65 sets up just that. The solo goes on for two full choruses, with some tricky ensemble backgrounds commencing at measure 97. A half ensemble shout chorus at measure 129 is ultimately just another setup, this time for a trombone soloist for two choruses. The fake-outs finally come to an end at measure 194, where the full band comes together for one final chorus. This shout section features some deft ensemble lines that will require a bit of rehearsing to tighten up. Although the melody is never fully re-stated, it is heavily implied for the final A section at measure 218. The arrangement comes to a brisk ending with a quick ascending figure, followed by an intensely dissonant blast.

This arrangement is for jazz big band. It is not a transcription - it has been prepared using John Fedchock's original score and parts.

Full Score
2 Alto Saxophones
2 Tenor Saxophones
Baritone Saxophone
4 Trumpets
3 Trombones
Bass Trombone
Guitar (Optional)
Trumpet 1: D6
Trombone 1: Ab4