Composed and Arranged by Charles Mingus
star star star star star Be the first to write a review!

Cat #: HL-7011810


This item usually ships within 5 to 7 business days.



Please call +1-518-587-1102 or email us.

Edition: Study Score

Publisher: Let My Children Hear Music, Inc.

Epitaph, written for a 31-piece ensemble, was the masterwork of composer/bassist Charles Mingus. The extended suite is comprised of multiple movements reflecting a wealth of compositional styles (not just jazz) that demonstrate Mingus' invaluable contribution to 20th-Century American music. Since its last performance, additional movements have been discovered which were originally intended to be a part of the work. This unique 357-page score includes these "missing movements" along with historical and program notes. Prepared and edited under the guidance of Gunther Schuller and Sue Mingus, it provides a monumental resource for study and analysis.