Volume 1: A Technical Guitar Method and Introduction to Music
Juan Serrano and Corey Whitehead
star star star star star Be the first to write a review!

Cat #: 21029

Retail Price: $19.95

Our Price: $17.96

This item usually ships within 5 to 7 business days.



Please call +1-518-587-1102 or email us.

Edition: Paperback Book, Guitar

Description: 175 Pages

This beginning guitar method is written for aspiring classical or flamenco guitarists who want to learn how to read music up to the intermediate level. Music from the Spanish tradition such as Romanza, Pica-Pica, El Vito, Café de las Chinitas, Perfidía, La Virgen de la Macarena and flamenco music of Juan Serrano provides a technical and musical foundation that improves facility in playing scales, arpeggios, tremelo, and rasgueado.

Tablature is not included as the one of the primary aims of this book is to improve note reading and the comprehension of the fundamental elements of music. Performances of all musical examples are available online that includes one performance at tempo for each of the more than 230 musical examples. Short repertoire pieces from Gaspar Sanz, Dionisio Aguado, Fernando Sor, Mauro Guiliani, Ferdinand Carulli, and Mateo Carcassi are included at the end of the book and are repertoire studies that will prepare guitarists for further study in classical and/or flamenco guitar.

Multiple Levels.

A Note from the Authors
The Guitar - A Brief History
La Guitarra (poem)
Parts of the Classical Guitar
Parts of the Flamenco Guitar
Names of the Open Strings
Note Locations on the Fretboard
Sitting Position and Holding the Guitar
The Fingers of the Right and Left Hand
Fingernail Shape and Maintenance
Picados (Scales) - Apoyando (Rest Stroke) and Tirando (Free Stroke)
Arpeggios (Broken Chords)
Tremolo (Preparatory Exercise)
Rasgueado (Strumming)
Basic Elements of Music Notation
Musical Expression Symbols
The Musical Alphabet
Half Steps and Whole Steps
The Major Scale
The Open Treble Strings
Systematic Arpeggio Exercises
Alternating Index and Middle Fingers...
The Open Bass Strings
Playing on the Bass and Treble Strings
Notes on the First String
Notes on the Second String
Music in Two Parts
Playing Eighth Notes
Notes on the Third String
Sevillanas I (Trio)
Sharps and Flats on the 1st, 2nd and 3rd strings
The Fifth Position on the First String
The Natural Sign
Romanza in A Minor
Sixteenth Notes
Estudio No. 2
Estudio No. 2 (Duet)
The Major Scale
The Natural (Relative) Minor Scale
The A Harmonic Minor Scale
The A Melodic Minor Scale
The Chromatic Scale
Notes on the Fourth String
Fandango Duo
Notes on the Fifth String
Historia de un Amor
The Dotted Quarter Note
Notes on the Sixth String
Farrucas (Bass Line)
El Zorongo (Bass Line)
El Zorongo (Melody)
Playing the F Major Chord
Playing Two Notes Together (Double-Stops)
El Vito
Sevillanas Intro
The Natural Notes
Sharps and Flats on the Bass Strings
The Chromatic Scale
El Rancho Grande
Alternating Bass and Chord Progression
El Rancho Grande (Duet)
Ascending and Descending Slurs: Ligados
Left Hand Agility Exercise
Chords in C Major and A minor
Las Mañanitas
Scales and Chord Progressions
Rumba Rhythm
Scales and Chord Progressions cont
The House of the Rising Sun
Variations on a Theme from Asturias
C Major Arpeggio and Chord Inversion
The A Minor Arpeggio and Chord
The G Major Arpeggio and Chord
The F Major Triad
Barré Chords
Chord Progressions
Café de Chinitas
La Virgen de la Macarena
The High D and E on the First String
Pica-Pica Melody (Guitar I)
Pica-Pica Accompaniment (Guitar II)
Pica-Pica Accompaniment (Guitar III)
Pica-Pica Accompaniment (Guitar IV)
Pica-Pica (quartet)
Chord Substitution
Key Signatures
The Circle of Fifths
Major and Minor Scales in the First Position
More Chords in the Circle of Fifths...
Allegro by Ferdinand Carulli
Allegretto by Carulli
Andante by Carulli
Allegro in E minor by Carulli
Etude in G Major by Carulli
Andantino by Carulli
Larghetto by Carulli
Menuet by Robert de Visée
Lección 38by Dionisio Aguado
Clarines de los mosqueteros del rey de Francia by Sanz
Allegro by Mauro Guiliani
Andante by Ferdinand Carulli
About the Authors