Arranged by Buck Clayton, Transcribed and Adapted by Myles Collins
No Image Available
star star star star star Be the first to write a review!

Cat #: LL-1360

Retail Price: $65.00

Our Price: $61.75

This item usually ships within 1 business day.



Please call +1-518-587-1102 or email us.

Audio Sample:

View Sample Page:

View Sample

Edition: Jazz Big Band Arrangement

Description: Swing - Difficult

Publisher: Lush Life Music

"It's Sand, Man" has been transcribed from the 1942 Count Basie chart. Originally arranged by Buck Clayton, the brass has been expanded to 8 voices to suit a full 5444 big band line-up. This chart is a pulsating up-tempo swinger full of contrast and interplay that has some fine sax soli work, big fat punchy brass lines and delicate piano solos, licks and fills. However, aside from solos for Piano and Trumpet the big solo feature is for Tenor. The Tenor solo is to be improvised from the chords provided. This chart works equally well in a gig or concert setting and there are no sax doubles.

Full Score
2 Alto Saxophones
2 Tenor Saxophones
Baritone Saxophone
4 Trumpets
4 Trombones
Trumpets 1-4: E6, C6, C6, G#5
Trombones 1-4: Ab4, F#4, F#4, C4