Arranged by Henry Wolking
No Image Available
star star star star star Be the first to write a review!

Cat #: W-52505DL

Retail Price: $65.00

Our Price: $58.50

This product is available for immediate download after purchase.



Please call +1-518-587-1102 or email us.

Audio Sample:

View Sample Page:

View Sample

Edition: Jazz Big Band Arrangement

Description: Concert Piece - Difficult

Publisher: Walrus Music Publishing

Time Passing Time is a 10 minute (or so) concert jazz ensemble composition that was commissioned by the Utah Arts Festival for performance by the Salt Lake City Jazz Orchestra at the 2012 festival in Salt Lake City, Utah. The opening chorale is based on a short piece I wrote for the memorial gathering for my mother upon her passing, it was called passing time. The trombones, flugelhorns, clarinet and bass clarinet provide the instrumental colors, dark and warm. The main body of the work is constructed upon layers of melodies and melodic snippets that for me are joyous and uplifting. This is time that passes time, hence the title. Plenty of blowing space for flugelhorn and piano along with some collective improvisation in the sax section. Lead trumpet to high E. Standard instrumentation except the trumpet section uses three trumpets and two flugelhorns. 1st tenor sax doubles on clarinet, bari doubles on bass clarinet, and sax 1 is soprano sax throughout.


Full score
Soprano Sax
Alto Saxophone
2 Tenors (1st doubles on clarinet)
Baritone sax (doubles on Bass Clarinet)
3 Trumpets
2 Flugelhorns
3 Trombones
Bass Trombone
Bass (electric)